Terence Gregory
Chief executive officer

Terence is a business executive with many years of board level experience in both the corporate and SME (small- and medium enterprise) environments.

He was previously employed by prestigious organisations such as Mercedes-Benz SA, AFGRI, Imperial and McCarthy and as an entrepreneur, was responsible for the development in South Africa of the Citroen and SsangYong organisations. Terence is a strategy and turn-around specialist with a track record of successful turnaround engagements.

He joined the Ecsponent group in 2010 and since then has been a major driving force behind the company’s successful turnaround.

Terence is a member of the Social and Ethics committee.

Bryan Shanahan
Group financial director

Bryan is a qualified chartered accountant with experience across a wide range of industries and organisations. He was an audit manager at a big four international auditing firm before becoming part of the executive management team of a large manufacturing group operating in Africa, responsible for the group’s financial processes, reporting and project financing reviews.

Bryan’s experience includes financial statement audits and financial reporting for a wide range of entities, governance and control assessments, company turnaround projects, mergers and acquisitions, risk management and exposure to corporate finance disciplines. Before his appointment as FD in December 2015, Bryan was Group Financial Manager at Ecsponent Limited.

He is a member of the Social and Ethics committee.

Richard Connellan
Independent non-executive chairman

Richard provides the group with a wealth of experience and is a well-respected figure amongst listed entities’ stakeholders in South Africa. He was the executive director of the Takeover Regulations Panel (TRP) (formerly Securities Regulation Panel), a position he held with distinction after many years of service at the Johannesburg Stock Exchange. He was a member of the King Task Group, looking into insider trading legislation, a member of the King III Committee on corporate governance (chairman of the takeovers and mergers subcommittee) and was a member of the Standing Advisory Committee on company law.

In addition, he is an elected fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators as well as an elected member of the South African Institute of Stockbrokers (non-broking).

Richard is a member of all board committees and chairman of Ecsponent’s Social and Ethics committee and Nominations committee.

George Manyere
non-executive vice chairman

Manyere has been appointed to the board as non-executive vice chairman. Until recently he was group CEO at Brainworks Limited – a Mauritian registered investment holding company which Manyere founded in 2008. Brainworks’ focus is on investments in the Zimbabwean hospitality, real estate, financial services and logistics sectors. Prior to founding Brainworks, Mr Manyere was an investment professional with the International Finance Corporation (IFC), headquartered in Washington DC. He holds a B.Acc (Hons) degree from the University of South Africa.

Keith Rayner
Independent non-executive director

Keith is a South African chartered accountant with experience in corporate finance. He is CEO of KAR Presentations, an advisory and presentation corporation.

He is an independent non-executive director of three JSE-listed companies and is a director of a number of private companies. Keith is a member of the JSE Limited’s Issuer Regulation Advisory Committee, is a fellow of the Institute of Directors (IOD) in South Africa, a non-broking member of the Institute of Stockbrokers in South Africa and a member of the Investment Analysts Society. He is a past member of the SAMREC / SAMVAL working group, the Takeover Regulation Panel’s rewrite committee, the IOD’s CRISA committee and the South African Institute of Chartered Accountant’s (SAICA) Accounting Practices Committee.

Keith is also chairman of Ecsponent’s Nominations and Remuneration Committee.

Brandon Topham
Independent non-executive director

Brandon is a qualified chartered accountant and an attorney of the High Court of South Africa. He holds BCompt (Hons), BProc and LLM degrees. He has been a member of the Institute of Directors in South Africa, an associate member of both the Institute of Chartered Management Accountants UK as well as England & Wales (non-practising). Additionally, he has been admitted as a solicitor in England and Wales and as a Certified Fraud Examiner (USA).

He has served as a director of many companies and still serves on the boards of Telemasters Holdings Limited and Seesa (Pty) Limited. As a forensic accountant he has acted as an Inspector for the Financial Services Board and has also worked with other regulators and government departments.

He serves as a member on all board committees and chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Patrick Matute Ecsponent
Patrick Matute
Non-executive director

Patrick is a seasoned investment professional with experience in corporate finance advisory and private equity. He is well-known and respected in the South African and African financial markets, with many years’ experience in the finance and equity. Additionally, he has more than nine years’ experience in mining resources and general corporate finance in Sub-Saharan Africa.

He was appointed to the board in October 2016.

Willem Oberholzer
Willem Oberholzer
independent non-executive director

Willem Oberholzer has been appointed as an independent non-executive director and member of the Audit Committee. Oberholzer, a CA(SA) with an M.Com (Tax), brings with him 20 years’ experience in start-ups, company formations, company turnarounds, mergers and acquisitions, complex tax structures, tax dispute resolutions and tax litigation with him in his new role. While holding several directorships, Oberholzer also lectures on Taxation at Masters level at the University of Pretoria.

Euné Engelbrecht
Non-executive director

In December 2015, Eunè resigned as the CEO of Ecsponent Capital (RF) Limited, which was the major shareholder of Ecsponent Limited at the time. Eunè was at the helm of Ecsponent Capital for four years and is currently a non-executive director of Ecsponent Limited.

Prior to joining Ecsponent Capital, Eunè was involved in fund-raising at a corporate level, securing continuous and affordable funding from global private equity funds, investment banks and development funding institutions. He was also responsible for acquisitions and expansion-related activities.